x

Blog

WEBINAR: THE PHARMACOECONOMICS OF CANCER DRUGS

By Karran Finlay
Feb 23, 2016

February 26, 2016 12pm EST | 10am MST | 9am PST

With new breakthroughs in cancer care and the subsequent rise in costs for these treatments, health economics is playing an increasingly important role in health care. What is pharmacoeconomics and what role does it play in the Canadian Health Care System and in the reimbursement decision-making process? Join us as Professor of Economics at Université de Montreal and Head, Oncology Policy and Reimbursement at Novartis Canada provides a greater understanding of what pharmacoeconomics is from a Canadian perspective and what this means for the cancer patient.

Frédéric Lavoie obtained his Master’s Degree in Economics in 1995 from Université du Québec à Montréal. Until 1998, he worked as a health economist at the Centre for the Analysis of Cost-Effective Care within the Division of Clinical Epidemiology, a research unit affiliated to McGill University. In this position, he worked on and authored different papers on economic evaluation of pharmaceuticals. In 1997, Frederic was part of a working group of researchers mandated by the Government of Quebec to evaluate the economic impact of the proposed tobacco legislation. Frederic began his career in the pharmaceutical industry when he joined Pfizer Canada in 1998 where he occupied various roles of increasing responsibilities. He joined Novartis Oncology in October 2014 as Head of Health Policy and Patient Access. He has also kept close links with the academic field as he has graduated in 2007 as a Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences under the supervision of Dr. Jacques LeLorier at Universite de Montreal. Frederic also serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care.

Registration URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8965378603025558541

Share Button

Comments